The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

About The Little Paris Bookshop

Monsieur Perdu can prescribe the perfect book for a broken heart. But can he fix his own?
 
Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls. The only person he can’t seem to heal through literature is himself; he’s still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a letter, which he has never opened.

After Perdu is finally tempted to read the letter, he hauls anchor and departs on a mission to the south of France, hoping to make peace with his loss and discover the end of the story. Joined by a bestselling but blocked author and a lovelorn Italian chef, Perdu travels along the country’s rivers, dispensing his wisdom and his books, showing that the literary world can take the human soul on a journey to heal itself.

Internationally bestselling and filled with warmth and adventure, The Little Paris Bookshop is a love letter to books, meant for anyone who believes in the power of stories to shape people’s lives.


Now My Review:

The reason I added the synopsis is because I knew if I were trying to describe it you would not have to read The Little Paris Bookshop. All the secrets would have just spilled right out of me. I absolutely LOVE this book!! Nina George took me to Paris, though I’ve never left the United States, I was seeing the fields and smelling everything. Traveling down the Seine and throughout the other countries with Perdu and Max has been a wonderful experience. The Little Paris Bookshop is about the love of books, lost love, new beginnings and new love (among many other great lessons).

The Literary Apothecary, “a longboat with a low-slung belly, a galley, two sleeping berths, a bathroom and eight thousand books.” Sounds like a dream to me. Could you imagine having this many books at your fingertips, daily? I have some sort of connection with these characters now. They are friends. Family. It’s like I was living with them for the last couple of days. It is very say to see them go (for now). I will be reading The Little Paris Bookshop again. And again.

The Little Paris Bookshop is a medicine of it’s own. My husband, which hates books, let me read most of it to him. You can visit The Book Apothecary here.

Things I Loved: EVERYTHINGThe-Little-Paris-BookShop-GalleyCat

Things I Didn’t: It Ended 😦

In one part of this book Perdu was listing to the radio, what he heard has really stuck with me….

“grief showed me what’s important in life. That’s what grief does. In the beginning it’s always there. You wake up and it’s there. It’s with you all day, everywhere you go. It’s with you in the evening; it wont leave you alone at night. It grabs you by the throat and shakes you. But it keeps you warm. One day it might go, but not forever. It drops by from time to time. And then, eventually…all of a sudden I knew what was important – grief showed me. Love is important. Good food. And standing tall and not saying yes when you should say no.”

So many people deal with grief every single day. If we stop and look at what’s important, it may become a little easier. Or at least let you know their are other things to be happy about.

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a review.

One thought on “The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

Leave a Reply

