In response to The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt: “First Sight”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “First Sight.”

Whether a person, a pet, an object, or a place, write about something or someone you connected with from the very first second.

Books! Did I say that loud enough? I know, it’s not what pops in most peoples heads when they think about “First Sight.” But I do. The truth is I’m an introvert. Always have been.

I remember being read to growing up but it wasn’t the same as picking up a book and reading it all by myself. The first book I REALLY remember reading was Dreamland by Sarah Dessen, which is still my favorite book, while in high school. After that, I read any book I could get my hands on. Thankfully my English teacher let us borrow books and family members would bring me to the library.

Now however many years later, I still love to read. I love to feel what the characters are feeling. Travel where ever they are, and smell what their smelling. I know that sounds crazy to some people, but if you love books like I do you understand exactly what I mean. You know how it feels to physically be at home or sitting in a doctor’s office while in your head your millions of miles away. The feeling you get when your trapped inside a book is wonderful. That’s why it was love at first sight, and still is. Every time I open a new book it starts all over again.

Then there are the books that don’t make you travel, they make you stay exactly where you are and think. Those books are also good, the only bad books are the ones unopened. The key is to know yourself and where you want to go when you pick up a book. If I want a vacation I go for the dreamy summer reads or love stories. Mysteries, Crime and suspense novels are always my top picks for forgetting my own life for a while. Then there’s biographies and true stories, these are the ones that make me think. Some may have certain reads for certain moods also, but may not be the same as mine. That is what makes books so wonderful. Each book does something different for each person that reads it.

I wish for everyone to have this feeling when they open up a book.

6 thoughts on “In response to The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt: “First Sight”

  1. I was lucky enough to fall in love with reading early on. I have so many jumbled memories of reading that I don’t remember which book came first, but I know that the first book I became obsessed with was Eragon by Cristopher Paolini. I read that book until it fell apart.

    It sounds like you had a great English teacher! Book enabling is the best sort of enabling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not surprised by your choice! Especially since hubby can’t pry the books out of your hands!!! I’m an introverted bookworm as well, but I bet I don’t read as many books as you do!! It’s great to have a passion in life, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still remember the first book I fell in love with too. Remember Me by Christopher Pike. It was life altering for me. I hid (and still hide) in between pages. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for the written word.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have to agree with that, but instead of picking up a book and reading it like you do, I get talking books or audio books as you might call them. They are produced by the national library service for the blind, which are sent to me in the mail from my state library for people with disabilities, or I can download books onto a flashdrive, or a flash cartridge to listen to them on my book player. I also order braille books from a network library too. However, if I want to purchase books and read them at the doctor’s office or anywhere else, I buy ibooks on my iphone to enjoy reading with apple’s voiceover screenreader. I love to read, and that is why I have developed my love of writing. Happy reading and writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

