Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before YouThey had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?


Oh my gosh! I absolutely loved and hated this book! My love and anger are so mixed right now, I honestly don’t even know how to start this other than with just the facts…

Louisa (Lou) Clark is looking for a job since her long time employer is now closing down. After a lot of failed attempts at other things she is employed by the Traynor’s as a caretaker for their wheelchair bound son, Will. Louisa has no experience at all with this sort of stuff and doesn’t understand why she was even hired for the job, but takes it anyway. Louisa is crazy, quirky, and full of unexpected things 🙂 Will on the other hand has become grumpy and closed off to just about everyone who knew him before the accident.

At first Will wants nothing to do with Lou, she talks too much and he just wants to be left alone. Somehow though she squeezes into his life, and he lets her in. They actually begin to get along quite well. In fact, he is now actually going out side of the house now. An event in itself no one else could get him to do. They talk, laugh and enjoy each others company. Then Lou finds out why she was really hired on only a six month contract…

Lou doesn’t understand why Will wants to do this, or how his family could just go along with it. (Notice I skipped why she was hired, yes that was intentional!) But for now she is doing all she can to change his mind. Even if that means losing her long term boyfriend(who should have been gone a long time ago) and causing herself to ride an emotional roller-coaster. Will slowly become the main focus of her life, and they both change because of it. He brings out the best in Lou, makes her realize she can go back to school and have a future and experience all kinds of things she has never before dreamed of. Together they experience the best six months of each of their lives.


I’m sorry that is so short and not the best review I’ve written by no means, but I just cant write more about it without completely ruining the book for you. What I would like to add though, through the tears still streaming down my face, is this…

Jojo Moyes paints a beautiful picture of friendship, love, pain, longing, and pretty much ANY emotion you can think of in Me Before You. Through these pages I have laughed(especially on page 183), cried, been extremely angry, over joyous and just plain stumped! I honestly don’t believe I have felt all these emotions so strongly in anything else I’ve ever read. You will not regret reading the book before or even instead of watching the movie. Me Before You will be staying with me for a long time…

#Friday Reads

I’m sure you have all seen the previews for this movie by now. My co-worker would say ‘I can NOT wait to see that.’ Me on the other hand, did not get excited until I took a little trip to the store with that co-worker. We had to go to the pen isle, which just so happens to be by the books at our local Walmart (I am seriously UNABLE to go down that isle without looking at the books). So of course, I had to grab it and now I’m super excited to read it, then watch the movie and tell everyone how different it is from the book. So, after it gets passed around the office we will all be talking about 🙂

Me Before You

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

 

My Happenings…

Life is Busy

Okay y’all, here lately I have been unusually busy. Thus the lack of post. With working shift work and also a bunch of other crazy stuff going on in my life I’d been neglecting something I love to do. I guess you could say just haven’t been taking the time to just stop. So my goal is to get back to the regularly scheduled stuff. Please forgive me for lacking, and come back to hear about the great books I’ve been reading.

You can look for the post to be coming back on Friday May 27th. Hope you all continue to enjoy them.